Jun 212018
This entry is part 14 of 15 in the series Prez Says
Photo of Paul DuarteLinkedIn

STC New England President Paul Duarte

Hello, STC New England News readers,

I’m pleased to announce the results of our elections. We had 14 ballots cast during the one-week period of May 31 to June 7, 2018, and here is your Council for 2018-2019:







Studio photo of Steven JongJack Edwards Productions

Incoming President Steven Jong

President—Steve Jong

Steve Jong will return as President of STC New England. He previously served as President of STC Boston from 2004-2005. Steve was recently named an STC Fellow, in recognition of his career achievements and his contributions to the Society over the years. Steve is currently a Principal Technical Writer at Oracle in Bedford, Massachusetts.







Selfie of Jennifer Bergus-Sesay in her officeJennifer Bergus-Sesay

Incoming Vice President Jennifer Bergus-Sesay

Vice President—Jennifer Bergus-Sesay

Joining our Council as Vice President is Jennifer Bergus-Sesay. She recently joined the New England Chapter and attended Summit 2018 in Orlando, Florida. Jennifer currently works as a Technical Writer at Bose in Framingham, Massachusetts, and she is pursuing her Master of Science in Technical Communication at Northeastern University in Boston.







Headshot of Jason Dickey

Treasurer Jason Dickey

Treasurer—Jason Dickey

Jason Dickey will return as STC New England’s Treasurer. This will be his second term in the role. Jason currently works as a Technical Communication Architect at Interactions Corporation in Franklin, Massachusetts.







Candid headshot of Steve GreffeniusArt Campbell

Secretary Steve Greffenius

Secretary—Steven Greffenius

Steven Greffenius will return as STC New England’s Secretary. This will be his second term in the role. Steven previously served as STC Boston President from 2007-2008. Steven currently works at Puzzle Mountain Digital in Westwood, Massachusetts.







Headshot of Sharon MetzgerLinkedIn

Council Member Sharon Metzger

Council Member—Sharon Metzger

Sharon Metzger will join our Chapter Council as a Member-at-Large. Sharon has participated in many of our programs in the past, volunteered for InterChange in the past, and is currently volunteering for InterChange 2018. Sharon is currently a Product Documentation Lead at Blue Cedar in Marlborough, Massachusetts.







Please join me in congratulating our winners. I’d like to welcome Steve Jong back to the Presidency, after serving as a Council Member-at-Large this past year, and I welcome back Steven and Jason to the Council for their second terms. I also would like to welcome Sharon and Jennifer to the Council. I wish them all the best of luck in their new roles.

Council Member Mark Decker is leaving the Chapter Council after serving for the past three years. He has been invaluable in reaching out to students interested in Technical Communication, and has provided great insight to the Chapter on what students’ needs are. He also helped organize our Holiday 2015 celebration in Manchester, New Hampshire, which was well received by attendees. Also, Preeti Kumble will not be returning to the Council after serving for two years. She was invaluable in helping arrange a program we had with Jack Molisani last year at GE in Foxborough, Massachusetts. Please join me in congratulating our two departing Council Members on their hard work.

Next year, I will ascend to Immediate Past President. Here, I will serve on the council and advise the members on actions to take in the coming year. These past two years as your President have been an adventure and a fruitful learning experience. I learned a lot about leadership, what it means to organize and prioritize events, and how to try new initiatives to make the Chapter a better one for members and the technical communication community as a whole. I will definitely use the knowledge and lessons I learned through the rest of my career.

Thank you, everyone, it has been an honor.

Series Navigation<< Things Coming Up This SpringIntroducing the New Guy >>